Skip to content
Tickled Pink

October 8, 2009

Well, I tell you, I am just tickled pink! My blog has been up for just 3 days, and I made it to the front page of WordPress. Yay, me! Thank you so much to those of you who have who’ve clicked through. I never thought I would be viewed by so many so soon.

Years ago, I wrote very well: I was one heck of an essayist. These days though, I spend my time writing somewhat dry technical courseware. (Although I’m sure my students think they rock.) 🙂 I also read a lot; mostly other people’s blogs and essays. I do Facebook & Twitter, but find that a lot of the time, I’ve got much more to say than I can fit in 140 characters. Thus: this blog.

I keep telling my 4 year old, over and over, “if you want to be really good at something, you just have to keep doing it, a lot.” So I’ll apply these words of wisdom to myself. I’m forcing myself to blog every day. Some posts will, of course, be better than others; but I hope that in the not-too-distant-future I’ll recover my writing chops.

Thanks again for the page views!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 7:58 pm

    hello,

    Thank you for the great quality of your blog, every time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

  2. October 12, 2009 11:17 am

    Your thought about setting the right example are spot-on, and I really liked your thoughts on the not-so-elite.

    A post-per-day is a difficult pace, as the last 54 days have taught me. I gave some general advice in my post “Blogging for Speakers”. I would like to hear your thoughts or comments.

    http://robchristeson.wordpress.com/2009/10/04/speaking-tips-blogging-for-speakers/

    • October 12, 2009 11:48 am

      You’re right about the post-per day, I’ve revised it to weekdays only. (No way can I write with the family around.) Still, five days a week is tough. Actually, the 4-way stop post was what I wrote on Friday, but I didn’t like it & just saved it as a draft to come back to. Then over the weekend I beat myself up a bit about not posting for Friday so I published it; then they stuck it on the front page! Geez! It’s nice to get people reading my stuff – that post just wasn’t what I had in mind. LOL. At least it didn’t offend anyone, and it’s not a total embarrassment. Thanks for your comments. I’ll click through & let you know what I think.

  3. Steven Harris permalink
    October 12, 2009 8:06 am

    Writing never leaves you, even if technical stuff seems to clog it up sometimes. You write well.
    http://doctorbeatnik.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

