Skip to content
My Heart Breaks For the Haitian People

January 15, 2010

devastation in HaitiIf there is only one story this week, it is the immense devastation brought about by the earthquake in Haiti. One need only be human to be torn apart by the event. The photos and video coming out of there is enough to cleave my heart in two. I don’t want to use this post to address the hyperventilation of those attempting to make political hay out of this issue, I’ll save that for another post. Right now, I can only urge you, if you have not already given, to dig deep and do whatever you can to help. A few options I would suggest:

I got right out there and made my donations on Tuesday night, and I felt I had done what I could. But then the images just kept flowing in, and some of it is so tragically horrific that it’s hard to bear. But then a friend on Twitter posted a picture that put me over the edge. I instantly melted into tears, and it was time to grab the credit card. I am not promoting foolish financial decisions for my readers, I am simply stating the effect this has on me. I know no one in Haiti, but I care for all of humanity. I have thought long and hard about whether I should post that picture, because it is truly disturbing. Finally, I decided that I will, if only it can convey to you what it does for me. You have been warned, though, it is graphic and devastating.

Any of the above links are great, or research and choose for yourself, but: please, do what you can.

Thank you.

Haiti's Children

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 5:00 pm

    I feel like we can do more. Look at those kids in the back of the truck who lost the chance to become someone. My heart goes out to the mothers who lost their children and I ask that God comforts them and fills the gap in their lives. I am collecting used shoes for Haiti as 30% of the population does not have shoes and that is the least we can do. Please come to my website and DONATE TODAY. Thank you

  2. Burnell Church permalink
    February 21, 2010 7:29 pm

    I literally am lost for words. This makes no sense. Myheart hurt so much. I have a two year son whom I just would di for. All I could was think of him. The funny thing is I would trade places with those kids because I know how my life is going to end up. They did not have chance to be themselves. God bless Haiti.

Leave a Reply

