Skip to content
Live-Blogging the State of the Union

January 27, 2010

Tonight I will be live-blogging President Obama’s State of the Union address, along with my blog-talk radio co-host Rutherford Lawson.

To attend the event, or read the transcripts after the fact, click here.

While all eyes may be on Joe Wilson, this is a crucial speech at a crucial juncture for this administration. I see this speech as his chance to either make or break Health Care Reform. The House and Senate are waiting for marching orders. He needs to indicate that we fight the good fight on this by passing the Senate bill in the House and fixing it through reconciliation in the Senate. The House seems to be on-board, but only if they get the signal from the Senate that reconciliation is a go and that all their concerns will be addressed. If, however, Obama waffles in the slightest, I would call Health Care Reform dead. There is no “starting over” in a bipartisan effort with the Republicans. They will not negotiate in good-faith towards true reform. I’m hoping to see the same fire on this that we saw last week in his speech to Elyria, OH. (Fingers-crossed.)

The other big news, already leaked, is talk of a spending freeze. The other night, on the radio show, when I was opining on the need for Obama to tap into to the populist vibe, this is not what I meant.  Sounds like a disastrous idea, but upon closer inspection, could turn-out to be nothing more than a cheap political ploy. I do like Paul Krugman’s fantasy that Obama might choose to tie this to something that might actually help the economy, like an employment tax credit, but I’m not holding my breath. Still, I will reserve judgment until the man has his say.

I wonder if the President will choose to mention last week’s Supreme Court ruling. I would love to hear him reference it as a call for public campaign financing, but that’s just a pipe dream of mine. Other topics sure to be covered include the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan; and perhaps domestic security in the wake of the Christmas pants-bomber. Ho-hum. Important topics, to be certain, but he’ll be much better served by focusing on the economy, the middle class, and accountability in the financial sector.

I did see this delightful SOTU drinking game over on HuffPo this morning, maybe I’ll play along. That could make the whole thing very entertaining for you! If you tune into the live-blog, you’re sure to learn that I am actually a very poor typist. A couple of “let me be clears” and “make no mistakes” and it can only get better! (As in worse and more amusing for you.) Am I kidding about this? Tune in and see!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 1:12 pm

    I will be VERY surprised if there is a call to arms regarding health care reform. But we will see.

    By the way, I’m a teetotaler so I won’t be able to use booze as my excuse for poor typing tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

