Skip to content
Aw…C’mon Ladies – The GOP Totally Has Your Back!

April 6, 2012

Image courtesy of Ban T-Shirts

Here’s all any female voter needs to know about the Republican Party in 2012:

So, yeah…it’s all good. You can feel good about the Republican Party again. Whew!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2012 7:40 pm

    Hey Cassandra,
    Let me start out with what I think we do agree on… cliche, but it works… (and besides, like cliche…)

    1) If a girl wants birth control, by all means, give it to her!
    2) There are far fewer unwanted births and abortions because of the ease of access to birth control.
    3) I’m also going to take a leap here and say, we both agree that easy access to birth control doesn’t promote sex… (my guess is hormones… 🙂 )
    4) If a mother’s life is in jeopardy, and the only way to get her “out of jeopardy” is to remove the baby, then I wouldn’t give it a second thought…
    5) And lastly, and most importantly, I don’t know what the point is or should be, when a terminating a pregnancy becomes an act of killing a baby. 8 minutes after conception… I don’t think so… 8 months afterwards… absolutely…

    If we can agree on that last one, then I think, although you may not agree with me, you can appreciate my position. I don’t really know what that point is, or when it should be… When it is, we could watch this thing grow inside the mother, we can say, Oooh! It happened! It’s now a baby!
    It may sound anal, but I’m a technical guy… I need something tangible I can measure. That’s why my, the premise for my position is… Err on the side of caution…
    That’s it!
    That said, I don’t have a problem with the morning after pill… But that’s as far as I’m willing to go.

  2. April 6, 2012 8:17 pm

    The question I always have for people are so strongly pro-abortion… at what point do you consider abortion, murder? I think most of us would say, “I don’t have a problem with a morning after pill”, but I also think most of us would say, “At 30 weeks, you’ve definitely crossed the line, and you’re killing a human being”.
    The problem is, I’ve always struggled with where that line should be. How about you? I don’t think the line should be an arbitrary number… like 7 weeks… I think if we are going to have “a line”, it should be based on some significant event in the development of the fetus… do you agree? Would it be the first heartbeat? (4 weeks) When it can live outside the mother? (slippery slope as technology keeps pushing it back further and further) Or the cutting of the cord?
    Again, I’ve struggled with this topic for years, and am always interested in hearing this answer from someone who is pro-abortion. (I hate the term pro-choice by the way… it’s like putting lipstick on a pig. Let’s agree to at least call it what it is)

    • April 7, 2012 1:33 pm

      1) “Pro-abortion” would literally mean advocating in favor of more abortions. “Pro-choice” means advocating in favor of having the option to do so. There is no one on the planet who consciously wants MORE abortions. They merely want the option to be there. Thus, pro-choice is perfectly accurate, and switching it to “pro-abortion” is putting mud on Helen of Troy (opposite of lipsticked pigs). I mean this not disrespectfully, but to point out that there is literally no such thing as “pro-abortion.”
      2) The people who advocate in favor of women having the right to choose whether or not they are going to have an abortion are the same people who advocate in favor of birth control availability, which reduces unwanted pregnancies, and therefore abortions. This means being pro-contraception is actually the world’s greatest abortion prevention tool ever devised. So again, people advocating in favor of women’s reproductive health are working against the quantity of abortions far more effectively than anyone claiming to be “pro-life” who simultaneously restricts birth control access, or lies to children about medical care in the form of abstinence-only education.
      3) Regarding the main topic of your post, remember that pro-choice communities struggle with this as well, which is, again, a major reason they advocate in favor of pregnancy prevention, to circumvent this problem altogether. I don’t have a straightforward answer either, but I do know that a fertilized egg is not the same as a human, and never was, and this is the crux of the religious right’s argument; they want ALL abortion criminalized, and have worked to do so. They do not struggle with the gray area at all; it is all illegal to them. Laws have been passed that prevent women from getting an abortion if the mother’s life is in danger, and mothers die. The people that pass these bills are not “pro-life” at all, they are simply pro-fetus, to the point of fanaticism. I agree there is a grey area, but pro-life communities do not.

Leave a Reply

