Skip to content
Donald Rumsfeld Is Old, Thinks Gay Marriage Could Lead To Polygamy

May 22, 2013

rumsfeldQuick! Name a former Bush-era Secretary of Defense from whom you’d take moral advice. Easy, right? Donald Rumsfeld, obvs. While it is beyond this blogger’s comprehension why anyone would choose to interview Mr. Rumsfeld in 2013, let alone to ask him about marriage equality, it is nonetheless true that Larry King did just that. (And yes, I too thought Larry King had retired.)

Partial transcript:

KING: Do you support same-sex marriage?

RUMSFELD: You know, I’m, I guess, of a generation that I don’t — I wonder — I listened to some of the Supreme Court justices and one of them said, ‘Well what’s next after that? Is it two people, three people?

KING: But you were a strong supporter of civil rights in Congress — I remember that.

RUMSFELD: You bet I was, throughout the 60s. I was proud of the work that the Congress did in the 1964 legislation and 1965 legislation. I guess I just don’t equate the two, and it’s not a subject I’m knowledgeable about. I guess the Rumsfeld rule here is: I don’t know.

So interesting interview in a few ways. First, we find that Rumsfeld is still worried about the impact of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’s repeal on unit cohesion; and those unfamiliar with Rumsfeld’s history prior to the Bush years learn he was a big supporter of civil rights. But of course the headline take-away is that Rumsfeld thinks same-sex marriage could be a slippery slope to polygamy.

Still, while Donald Rumsfeld is definitely not one of my favorite people, I’m going to cut him some slack here. While many media outlets (Think Progress,  Talking Points Memo, HuffPo…) want to make hay out of Rumsfeld’s homophobic beliefs,  I think the real take-away from the interview is that Donald Rumsfeld is OLD. And, like many old people, he isn’t quite sure what to think about this whole gay marriage thing. He seems to want to be open-minded and cognizant of the times, but it just doesn’t sit right in the ol’ noggin. How else to explain that a person who supported civil rights in the 60’s can’t see a correlation now?

But hey, one need only look at the polling to see that support for gay and lesbian rights is found mainly in younger Americans. Rumsfeld is just part of his generation. And apparently old people are all terribly worried about polygamy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2013 1:00 am

    Reblogged this on jlp4dblog.

  2. May 23, 2013 11:46 am

    Reblogged this on Leaning Left and commented:

    The softer side of Rumsfeld’s brain.

  3. May 22, 2013 5:44 pm

    Reblogged this on Dystopian Present and commented:
    Donald Rumsfeld knows there are things he doesn’t know and also that there are things that he doesn’t know that he doesn’t know. How he could make comments about gay marriage possibly leading to polygamy and gay marriage not fitting as a civil liberty for him would is an unknown unknown for me. http://youtu.be/GiPe1OiKQuk

  4. May 22, 2013 4:18 pm

    I’m trying hard – really hard – to think of anything else I’ve ever heard of that ever led to polygamy. I seem to recall hearing something about it. What was it?

    Oh yeah. Heterosexuality! In fact, heterosexual polygamy is the most mentioned form of polygamy in the Bible. D’oh!

    I can’t wait to see Rummy come out against breeder plural marriages.

    • May 22, 2013 4:20 pm

      Erm. That should read: “In fact, heterosexual polygamy is the most mentioned form of marriage in the Bible.”

Leave a Reply

